Home Company Team Technology Products Investors Contact Us

Management Team

Board of Directors

Scientific Advisory Board
Scientific Advisory Board

Harry B. Gray, Ph.D., is the Arnold O. Beckman Professor of Chemistry and the Founding Director of the Beckman Institute at the California Institute of Technology. Dr. Gray is the 2004 recipient of the Wolf Foundation Prize in chemistry and is widely recognized for his pioneering work in long-range electron transfer processes in proteins. Dr. Gray has made significant contributions to chemistry, including authoring over 650 peer-reviewed publications and 17 books. Dr. Gray holds a B.S. in Chemistry from Western Kentucky University and a Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry from Northwestern University and is a Member of the National Academy of Sciences. Ohmx was founded to build upon technology that was developed by Dr. Harry Gray and Dr. Thomas Meade.

Gary F. Blackburn, Ph.D. is the Chief Executive Officer of Claremont BioSolutions and also holds an advisory role with Ohmx.  Gary served as the President and CEO of Ohmx from 2005 to 2010 and joined the company from Clinical Micro Sensors, a subsidiary of Motorola, Inc. where he served as Vice President of Research and Technology.  He has been instrumental in the development of electrochemical biosensor devices to detect nucleic acids and mutations in DNA.  Previously, he served as Director of Research at IGEN International from 1987 to 1996 and Director of Technology Management at Boehringer Mannheim Diagnostics and Roche Diagnostics from 1996 to 1998.  Dr. Blackburn has authored many publications in the field of diagnostic applications of chemical sensors and is the inventor on over 30 U.S. and European patents.


Thomas O’Halloran, Ph.D. is the Morrison Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Cell Biology at Northwestern University.  He was elected Chair of the Bioinorganic Division of the American Chemical Society and also served as Chair of a NIH Study Section (BMT) from 1999-2001. He also serves on an advisory board to the United States Department of Energy Biological Sciences Directorate (2001-2004). He holds a B.S. and an M.S. in chemistry from the University of Missouri and a Ph.D. in bioinorganic chemistry from Columbia University. Dr. O’Halloran completed his postdoctoral training at MIT. 

Holden Thorp, Ph.D., is currently serving as Provost at Washing University in St. Louis. He previously served as the Kenan Professor and Chair of the Chemistry Department at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he later served as Chancellor of the University. He obtained his B.S. in Chemistry from UNC-Chapel Hill in 1986, where he worked with Professor Thomas J. Meyer. He received his Ph.D. in Chemistry in Professor Harry B. Gray's laboratory at the California Institute of Technology. After postdoctoral research at Yale with Professor Gary Brudvig, he began his independent research career in 1991 and has published over 120 scholarly publications on the electronic properties of DNA and RNA. For his research, Dr. Thorp was named a Presidential Young Investigator and has received the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, the David and Lucile Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering, and both the New Faculty Award and Teacher-Scholar Award from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation.

Richard P. Van Duyne, Ph.D., is the Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University.  He discovered surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy, invented nanosphere lithography and developed localized surface plasmon resonance nanobiosensors.  Dr. Van Duyne's research includes surface-enhanced spectroscopy, nanofabrication, nanoparticle optics, combined scanning probe microscopy / Raman microscopy, Raman spectroscopy of mass-selected clusters, ultrahigh vacuum surface science, structure and function of biomolecules on surfaces and nanoparticle optics for chemical and biological sensing. Dr. Van Duyne holds a B.S. in Chemistry from the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and a Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

[ back to top ]


Design by Digizyme